After reading, “the Illicit happiness of other people”

It’s impossible to escape happiness, that was the 400 paged novels major theme; that’s what I gathered from my English professor’s reaction to the book. Then I got hold of the same copy she read, I took a month or so and finished reading it this morning.

I cancelled all my plans for the day and I’ve been floating around the house, watched two movies to get distracted. I liked the book. But it took a number on me, I was sure it’s going to be ans unresolved ending, difficult plot, theme and all that stuff. I feel like I know Unni Chako well enough to see why it ended the way it did, but it still hurts. 

The voice of Mariamma, Thoma, and Ousep Chako were urban, Indian, and very honest. The raw and uncannily real people make this novel a journey through nostalgia. The poverty of the urban middle class, the children from this era, the humour that runs the south Indian cinema and everything seems to be measured and quantified to help enjoy.
The acknowledgement has Manu Joseph thanking more than three editors and  their efforts are wonderful. It’s a book that anybody who’s been in the south of India can relate or see resemblance. The people, places, and  things to do are like the everyday of an average middle class boy.

A book to be read for meeting the young Intellectuals and their path to understanding what life means to them, is a curious journey into their minds. I feel a loss to say what the book did, but I can say for sure, unlike Ousep Chako I see why Unni did, what he did and that’s probably why it hurts.

Leave a Reply

