Melancholy

I was riding in my neighbourhood thoughtless and for once I didn’t want to zoom through and get it done I was feeling the ride, I wasn’t enjoying it but experiencing it because otherwise I ride  in somewhat of a zombie state.
I stopped at the supermarket and bought two servings of blueberry yogurt and started back home. My phone beeped more messages and I didn’t want to see it right now, then I tried to think what’s the word for my mood right now, Melancholy.
Thats the word, it felt absolutely perfect but I couldn’t remember what it meant. I looked it up when I got home and I was right, “a gloomy state of mind, especially when habitual or prolonged depression.” is what that felt like.
I got home, ate the terrible yogurt and I poured my heart out, at least the things I was ready to say it all.
I had conversations, conversations that made me happy and I felt nice after telling what I felt, relieved. I was happy to know the support I have and was happier when I realised I can reciprocate them. Mood shifts are instantaneous and that’s scary.

Leave a Reply

