Used to be

I saw her sitting next to him, holding his hand, laughing at something he was saying and looking right through me. We used to be best friends and now since he asked her out we don’t talk anymore.
She told a few days later,

“he doesn’t want me talking to you anymore…”

, she told me a lot of other things but only that stuck in my head.
Five years since then, she has ended it with him, got back with him, called it off again and now they hate each other.
None of that is my business; we ran into each other once and tried to catch up but she was surprised to hear I had life in school beyond her and that those friends kept in touch.
She was one of the first friends I lost, sadly not the last.

One thought on “Used to be

Leave a Reply

